Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: amaddclient error

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xHan View Post
    When you set up your zwc Windows client, try "run as administrator".
    That didn't help. For what it's worth, I'm an admin on the server and UAC has been turned off.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by homenet View Post
    Well, I got it set up again and I can get a backup of another Ubuntu server without issue. However, the backup of a Windows 2008 R2 server fails. I think I still have something wrong with my config.

    My report:

    Code:
    Hostname: h1p-backup1
    Org     : DailySet1
    Config  : DailySet1
    Date    : October 20, 2012
    
    These dumps were to tape DailySet1-1.
    The next tape Amanda expects to use is: 1 new tape.
    The next new tape already labelled is: DailySet1-2.
    FAILURE DUMP SUMMARY:
      amanda-client2.homenet.local "C:/Users/rsickler" lev 0  FAILED [amanda-client2.homenet.local:  Server validation Failed. Please register server with client.]
    
    
    
    STATISTICS:
                              Total       Full      Incr.   Level:#
                            --------   --------   --------  --------
    Estimate Time (hrs:min)     0:00
    Run Time (hrs:min)          0:00
    Dump Time (hrs:min)         0:00       0:00       0:00
    Output Size (meg)           24.5       24.5        0.0
    Original Size (meg)         31.6       31.6        0.0
    Avg Compressed Size (%)     77.5       77.5        --
    DLEs Dumped                    1          1          0
    Avg Dump Rate (k/s)      19259.8    19259.8        --
    
    Tape Time (hrs:min)         0:00       0:00       0:00
    Tape Size (meg)             24.5       24.5        0.0
    Tape Used (%)                0.5        0.5        0.0
    DLEs Taped                     1          1          0
    Parts Taped                    1          1          0
    Avg Tp Write Rate (k/s)  25057.0    25057.0        --
    
    USAGE BY TAPE:
      Label               Time         Size      %  DLEs Parts
      DailySet1-1         0:00           0G    0.5     1     1
    
    NOTES:
      planner: Adding new disk amanda-client1.homenet.local:/home/homenet.
      planner: Adding new disk amanda-client2.homenet.local:"C:/Users/rsickler".
      taper: Slot 1 with label DailySet1-1 is usable
      taper: tape DailySet1-1 kb 25057 fm 1 [OK]
    
    
    DUMP SUMMARY:
                                                                    DUMPER STATS               TAPER STATS
    HOSTNAME                     DISK                L ORIG-GB  OUT-GB  COMP%  MMM:SS    KB/s MMM:SS    KB/s
    -------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------- --------------
    amanda-client1.homenet.local /home/homenet       0       0       0   77.5    0:01 19247.3   0:01 25057.0
    amanda-client2.homenet.local "C:/Users/rsickler"                              FAILED
    
    (brought to you by Amanda version 3.3.2)
    Should I kick this over to the Windows client forum?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    21

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by homenet View Post
    Well, I got it set up again and I can get a backup of another Ubuntu server without issue. However, the backup of a Windows 2008 R2 server fails. I think I still have something wrong with my config.

    My report:

    Code:
    Hostname: h1p-backup1
    Org     : DailySet1
    Config  : DailySet1
    Date    : October 20, 2012
    
    These dumps were to tape DailySet1-1.
    The next tape Amanda expects to use is: 1 new tape.
    The next new tape already labelled is: DailySet1-2.
    FAILURE DUMP SUMMARY:
      amanda-client2.homenet.local "C:/Users/rsickler" lev 0  FAILED [amanda-client2.homenet.local:  Server validation Failed. Please register server with client.]
    
    
    
    STATISTICS:
                              Total       Full      Incr.   Level:#
                            --------   --------   --------  --------
    Estimate Time (hrs:min)     0:00
    Run Time (hrs:min)          0:00
    Dump Time (hrs:min)         0:00       0:00       0:00
    Output Size (meg)           24.5       24.5        0.0
    Original Size (meg)         31.6       31.6        0.0
    Avg Compressed Size (%)     77.5       77.5        --
    DLEs Dumped                    1          1          0
    Avg Dump Rate (k/s)      19259.8    19259.8        --
    
    Tape Time (hrs:min)         0:00       0:00       0:00
    Tape Size (meg)             24.5       24.5        0.0
    Tape Used (%)                0.5        0.5        0.0
    DLEs Taped                     1          1          0
    Parts Taped                    1          1          0
    Avg Tp Write Rate (k/s)  25057.0    25057.0        --
    
    USAGE BY TAPE:
      Label               Time         Size      %  DLEs Parts
      DailySet1-1         0:00           0G    0.5     1     1
    
    NOTES:
      planner: Adding new disk amanda-client1.homenet.local:/home/homenet.
      planner: Adding new disk amanda-client2.homenet.local:"C:/Users/rsickler".
      taper: Slot 1 with label DailySet1-1 is usable
      taper: tape DailySet1-1 kb 25057 fm 1 [OK]
    
    
    DUMP SUMMARY:
                                                                    DUMPER STATS               TAPER STATS
    HOSTNAME                     DISK                L ORIG-GB  OUT-GB  COMP%  MMM:SS    KB/s MMM:SS    KB/s
    -------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------- --------------
    amanda-client1.homenet.local /home/homenet       0       0       0   77.5    0:01 19247.3   0:01 25057.0
    amanda-client2.homenet.local "C:/Users/rsickler"                              FAILED
    
    (brought to you by Amanda version 3.3.2)

    Think I figured this out. On the Windows Server, I ran "C:\Program Files\Zmanda\Zmanda Client for Windows Community Edition(x64)\bin\ZWCConfig.exe" and got into the Server config tab. On there, it had my server listed correctly - as far as I could tell. It listed h1p-backup1.homenet.local and I could ping it just fine. However, when I removed it and added the server via IP address, it worked just fine! Any idea why, that would occur??

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81

    Default

    That is a DNS issue. If you ran nslookup AmandaServerHostName on your Windows client, you would find the returned ip is not correct. Either you can only add the server's ip in your ZWC, or you can add the Amanda Server's ip and host name in the Windows client's 'hosts' file (C:\Windows\System32\Config\drivers\etc) to allow you using Server's host name in ZWC.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xHan View Post
    That is a DNS issue. If you ran nslookup AmandaServerHostName on your Windows client, you would find the returned ip is not correct. Either you can only add the server's ip in your ZWC, or you can add the Amanda Server's ip and host name in the Windows client's 'hosts' file (C:\Windows\System32\Config\drivers\etc) to allow you using Server's host name in ZWC.
    The IP info looks good.
    Code:
    U:\>nslookup h1p-backup1
    Server:  dc1.homenet.local
    Address:  10.224.210.7
    
    Name:    h1p-backup1.HOMENET.local
    Address:  10.224.210.37
    
    
    U:\>nslookup h1p-backup1.homenet.local
    Server:  dc1.homenet.local
    Address:  10.224.210.7
    
    Name:    h1p-backup1.homenet.local
    Address:  10.224.210.37

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81

    Default

    It is weird. Can you add your server host name and ip in your Windows 'host' file to see if it works?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xHan View Post
    It is weird. Can you add your server host name and ip in your Windows 'host' file to see if it works?
    Adding a reverse DNS entry helped with this.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •