Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: FAILURE DUMP SUMMARY: amdump: ERROR An Amanda process is already running

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    29

    Question FAILURE DUMP SUMMARY: amdump: ERROR An Amanda process is already running

    Hi,

    *** THE DUMPS DID NOT FINISH PROPERLY!

    The next tape Amanda expects to use is: DailySet1-11.
    FAILURE DUMP SUMMARY:
    amdump: ERROR An Amanda process is already running - please run amcleanup manually

    Amanda its's sending this message on every run, does any body knows about it?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Hey

    Could you do #ps aflxw | grep amanda to see if there any unexpected backup process is running once you meet this error again?
    Last edited by xHan; August 22nd, 2012 at 09:24 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Hi,

    This is the output:

    -bash-4.1$ ps aflxw | grep amanda
    4 0 830 2464 20 0 97852 3936 unix_s Ss ? 0:00 \_ sshd: amandabackup [priv]
    5 503 837 830 20 0 97852 1760 poll_s S ? 0:00 \_ sshd: amandabackup@pts/1
    0 503 1083 838 20 0 103300 832 pipe_w S+ pts/1 0:00 \_ grep amanda
    4 0 28757 28755 20 0 64612 1796 wait Ss ? 0:00 \_ su - amandabackup -c /var/lib/amanda/backup.sh
    4 503 28759 28757 20 0 106148 1192 wait Ss ? 0:00 \_ /bin/bash /var/lib/amanda/backup.sh
    4 503 28783 28782 20 0 102164 5512 poll_s S ? 0:00 \_ /usr/libexec/amanda/planner DailySet1 --starttime 20120822230002
    0 503 28784 28782 20 0 101960 5136 poll_s S ? 0:00 \_ /usr/libexec/amanda/driver DailySet1
    0 503 28785 28784 20 0 163988 20800 poll_s S ? 0:00 \_ /usr/bin/perl /usr/libexec/amanda/taper DailySet1


    The contents of backup.sh

    #!/bin/bash

    amdump DailySet1

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Ok. It looks like a dump process did not finish properly.
    Can you login as amanda backup user and $ amcleanup -k you-backup-set-name
    Then $ amdump you-backup-set-name
    to see if it works.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Hi xHan,

    I finally found what was the problem, the crontab was configured to run every minute!!!!!

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81

    Default

    That's cute

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •