Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Backup confiuration

Question Backup confiuration

Hi,

I am a newbie in AMANDA stuff, I tried to backed up the data basically Thunderbird of local machine's (of engineer's in my office), I am done with the installation and configuration thing of amanda on the server.
    Now I have some doubts :

1. Where does backup come on web server. what are the necessary things required for this?
    2. Is it necessary to mount a media for backup? cant we just store the backup on the server let say on server's /home/backups/ directory? Currently I want to configure backup just for 1 client.

Please confirm, and let me know ASAP.

Regards,
    Riya Aggarwal

Quote Originally Posted by replytoriya View Post
    Hi,

I am a newbie in AMANDA
    Welcome to Amanda!

1. Where does backup come on web server. what are the necessary things required for this?
    I don't understand this question. Would you please rephrase it?

2. Is it necessary to mount a media for backup? cant we just store the backup on the server let say on server's /home/backups/ directory? Currently I want to configure backup just for 1 client.
    All backups for a single config are written to the same tape or disk storage as seen by the Amanda server. In the case of disk storage, the location the Amanda server writes to may be either directly-attached or remote storage. If the client being backed up is the Amanda server itself, I would write the backups to a remote location so that backups remain intact in the case of server failure.

Paul

from pnt 1. What i mean is, does the backed up data have any physical existence? , where can I see that ? I am totally confused this time and got stuck don't know what would be the next step.

and Secondly, I don't have any hard disk or external memory to use. Thats why I was thinking of using server itself to backed up the data.

So far what I have done is:

Both web server and client server is running on RHEL 5 and are 36 bit machine