Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: trouble with spanning backups on 3.2.2

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,049

    Default

    Post the output of: amadmin CONF disklist
    Do the allow-split is set to YES?
    Post the complete taper debug file
    Post the complete amdump.1 log file

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default

    sorry it took me so long....

    -sh-3.2$ amadmin rtsset12 disklist
    line 1:
    host redux.#####.###.###:
    interface default
    disk /import/data/solid_data6:
    program "GNUTAR"
    data-path AMANDA
    exclude list ".amandaexclude"
    priority 1
    dumpcycle 14
    maxdumps 1
    maxpromoteday 10000
    bumppercent 20
    bumpdays 1
    bumpmult 4.000000
    strategy STANDARD
    ignore NO
    estimate CLIENT
    compress SERVER FAST
    comprate 0.50 0.50
    encrypt NONE
    auth "bsdtcp"
    kencrypt NO
    amandad-path ""
    client-username ""
    client-port ""
    ssh-keys ""
    holdingdisk AUTO
    record YES
    index YES
    starttime 0000
    fallback-splitsize 10Mb
    skip-incr NO
    skip-full NO
    allow-split YES
    spindle -1

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default complete taper debug file & complete amdump.1 log file

    Attached zip as they are too large to fit in post.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,049

    Default

    Is it the default allow-split or you set it in the dumptype?
    If you don't specify it, please add it.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,049

    Default

    The dumptype tape-splitsize look to be required when doing a dump direct to tape. try to add it.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default

    taken from /var/lib/amanda/template.d/dumptypes

    define dumptype comp-user-tar-span {
    user-tar-span
    compress client fast
    tape-splitsize 1 gbyte
    device-property "LEOM" "yes"
    }


    I'm not sure where else to define it but there.......?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default

    so now there are additional issues. I've hit the two week rotation on my backups and now that they are all doing full backups they are all failing at the third disk. Same exact errors as the one we are working with. In addition, because the backups are writing two disks, then failing (rtsset12 is our example) its filling up the backup disk space. I have a 4 TB volume for each backup and rtsset12 has now hit 99% full. I have theses backups split to never go over 90% capacity in a two week period, but due to a full never completing its just filling up space. What am I missing? They were all fully functional before the upgrade to 3.2.2 so it has to be a configuration change somewhere.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,049

    Default

    I already committed a fix for similar bug.
    Can you compile amanda from source?
    The latest source for the 3.2 branch is [url]http://www.zmanda.com/downloads/community/community-builds/amanda-3.2.2.svn.3918.tar.gz[/url]

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Thank you much for all your assistance on this!!
    yes, I will compile, install and get back to you with the results.
    =)

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default

    so far I have four full backups running in parallel, successful up to fourth tape on all four and still writing. will continue to monitor over the weekend and get back to you next week. Source install appears to have fixed the issue.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •