Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: taper: FATAL no device is available

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Goshen, KY
    Posts
    38

    Default patch applied

    and the last 10000 lines.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    688

    Default

    Is the tape device in fixed-block or variable-block mode?

    [url]http://www.gsp.com/cgi-bin/man.cgi?section=4&topic=sa[/url]

    I'm following up on this on the freebsd-scsi list, by the way:
    [url]http://lists.freebsd.org/pipermail/freebsd-scsi/2010-June/004414.html[/url]

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,049

    Default

    We are trying to find how a write could return 0.

    This simple patch make it less fatal, try it.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,049

    Default

    I found that in the head debug file:
    Wed Jun 16 17:54:23 2010: taper: invoking /usr/local/sbin/mtx -f /dev/changer nobarcode status
    Wed Jun 16 17:54:23 2010: taper: warning: Can't exec "/usr/local/sbin/mtx": Invalid argument at /usr/local/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.10.1/Amanda/Changer/robot.pm line 1986.

    Do /usr/local/sbin/mtx the correct path?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Goshen, KY
    Posts
    38

    Default path: /usr/local/sbin/mtx

    Jean-Louis,

    I saw that.

    Yes, the path is correct.

    Also, amtape and amlabel are able to manipulate the changer just fine.

    Also, as I indicated, everything works on 2.6.1p1.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Goshen, KY
    Posts
    38

    Default fixed-block or variable-block

    Dustin,

    The output of mt status indicates that the Mammoth drive is configued (default) to variable block mode.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,049

    Default

    I haven't found why the taper can't exec mtx. I don't know what is 'Invalid argument'.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Goshen, KY
    Posts
    38

    Default new test

    Jean-Louis,

    I rebuilt amanda (using svn.3194 which includes your patch).

    I ran the next backup cycle (approximately 44Gb).

    The tape error appears to reflect the patch as expected.

    Enclosed are the first 5000 and the last 5000 lines of tape.*.debug.

    I await further orders.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •