PDA

View Full Version : Amanda 2.5.0p2 and postfix



charles
May 27th, 2006, 05:30 AM
Hi all,

I use Amanda-2.5.0p2 on a SLES9 64 bit box.
We create a rpm-packages from the sources and install this on 3 test-boxes.
After backup with amanda (only some test-folders),the postfix service is dead.

We compiled the rpm with the following options:
CFFLAGS="$RPM_OPT_FLAGS"
CXXFLAGS="$RPM_OPT_FLAGS"
....

--with-maxtapeblocksize=64

The flags from the original-spec-file from amanda does not work for us :-(...

Someone has a hint for me?

Charles

paddy
May 28th, 2006, 03:44 PM
Hi Charles,

I guess you could not rpms built for SLES9 because you wanted to use tape
with 64k block size. Is my understanding correct? What tape drive are you
using? It will be great if you could provide configure options you had used?

Does postfix die when a mail is sent by amdump? Can you provide more information
about the problem? Take a look at amdump logs. Did you try running amreport
manually? Did you get any errors?

Thanks,
Paddy

charles
May 29th, 2006, 03:10 AM
Hi Paddy,

thanx for the reply :-)

Here are following results:

$ rpmbuild -ba --define "build_sles9 1"

gcc:3.3.3-43-41
gcc-c++: 3.3.3-43-41
glibc:2.3.3
amanda-2.5.0p2

Compile options:
#CFLAGS="%{optflags} -m32" CXXFLAGS="%{optflags} -m32" \
CFFLAGS="$RPM_OPT_FLAGS" CXXFLAGS="$RPM_OPT_FLAGS" \
./configure \
--build=%{build_host} \
--prefix=%{PREFIX} \
--bindir=%{BINDIR} \
--sbindir=%{SBINDIR} \
--libexecdir=%{LIBEXECDIR} \
--datadir=%{DATADIR} \
--sysconfdir=%{SYSCONFDIR} \
--sharedstatedir=%{LOCALSTATEDIR} \
--localstatedir=%{LOCALSTATEDIR} \
--libdir=%{LIBDIR} \
--includedir=%{INCLUDEDIR} \
--infodir=%{INFODIR} \
--mandir=%{MANDIR} \
--with-gnutar-listdir=%{LOCALSTATEDIR}/gnutar-lists \
--with-gnutar=/bin/tar \
--with-maxtapeblocksize=64 \
--with-dumperdir=%{LIBEXECDIR} \
--with-index-server=localhost \
--with-tape-server=localhost \
--with-user=%{config_user} \
--with-group=%{config_group} \
--with-owner=%{packer} \
--with-fqdn

Device:
HP StorageWorks Ultrium 460 200/400
I'm not sure that I used the right -with-maxtapeblocksize...
When I looked in the manual there is an information,that the device can use automatically 512 - 64 KB.Maybe I misunderstood the text..
On a 32 bit box,we have no troubles with amanda and postfix.
(Compile -with-maxtapeblocksize=32)

Does postfix die when a mail is sent by amdump?
--The postfix dies when the amdump was more than 20 GB
--The backup is complete after amdump

Can you provide more information about the problem?
--We used amanda as server and client.For every backup the same postfix-error at the main-backup server :-(.

--The 3 test-boxes have exactly the same hardware components..all boxes are 64 bit machines.
Take a look at amdump logs.
--I can not find amdump.log
Only amcheck,runtar,amandad,sentsize,sentbackup,amtrmlo g.amtrmidx
But these files looks like normal...without errors

Did you try running amreport manually?
Yes I did:

Did you get any errors?
backup.site /home RESULTS MISSING
backup.site /vol1 RESULTS MISSING
backup.site /test RESULTS MISSING
amreport: ERROR could not open log /etc/amanda/daily/log: No such file or directory

After 6 test-backups:postfix never died,because I compile a new rpm with the same options.I hope now the error is away.
But what can I do against:RESULTS MISSING?

Thanks

Charles

paddy
May 29th, 2006, 06:57 AM
Hi Charles,

We usually test 32 bit binaries on 64 bit box running SLES9. What happens when
you run 32 bit binaries (built with-maxtapeblocksize=32) on 64 bit machine?

I don't see any reason why postfix mail server will die because of amdump. Amanda
just sends an email at the end of amdump run. The size of email is not dependent
on the backup size.

Look for amdump logs in configuration directory (for example: /etc/amanda/<config>/). It will be called amdump.1

For results missing issue, please see http://wiki.zmanda.com/index.php/Amdump:_results_missing web page.

Paddy

charles
May 29th, 2006, 07:08 AM
Hi Paddy,

is was a good idea to used 32 bit amanda:-).
Now it works without postfix-'dead'.We compiled a rpm on a 32 bit machine.
Normally we had many problems with the 64 bit machine ( ith SLES9).In this case I used a package from a 32 bit box...and it works.

Thank You for your response :-)

Charles

paddy
May 29th, 2006, 07:13 AM
Hi Charles,

Any reason why you did not try 32 bit RPMs from http://www.zmanda.com/downloads.html instead of compiling one? Are you still using with-maxtapeblocksize as 64?

Thanks,
Paddy

charles
May 29th, 2006, 08:05 AM
Hi Paddy,

the reason for 64 kb was:
I read in a 'old' manual of our device,that the performance is better..that's all ;-).
I tried the rpm from the download-page and I found good results with it.
The speed from a backup is more faster than our veritas-backup-exec.
Veritas could not make some backup's for different files..and now we can do it..excellent work for Amanda..Thank You..we like it

Charles