PDA

View Full Version : Amanda USB drive as a tape archieve

retired_techie
September 30th, 2007, 05:51 PM
Hi I am trying to backup my Windows XP machine that I can not do with the windows backup utility.
I am new to this Amanda. I only downloaded the client for Windows and accepted all of the defaults and the bsdtcp option.
I actually do not know exactly what I am doing with Zmanda but wish to learn.
I have a USB Maxtor Hard disk drive that I wanted to use as a storage for my main hard drive backup. What are the step by step instructions that I must do to accomplish this task if at all possible?
Thanks for any support I receive.

sunil
October 1st, 2007, 12:12 AM
For windows client installation and configuration please follow:
http://wiki.zmanda.com/index.php/Windows_client

For quick installation and configuration of amanda see examples:
http://www.zmanda.com/quick-backup-setup.html

retired_techie
October 2nd, 2007, 05:54 AM
Thank you.
On my windows XP machine I also installed an additional internal hard drive that I am using exclusively for the Ubuntu distribution of Linux. Ubuntu can not write to my USB drive I think because it is in NTFS format. I found a forum with a link that said to add some packages to Ubuntu so that it could write to NTFS file systems. I received messages Software Channel has newer release. I do not know what exactly what that message is telling me to do? Where do I get the latest release of the Dapper packages?
If while my machine is running in Linus mode could it act as a backup server for the NTFS file system on the same computer?
Would I have to load both a server and client on the same Linux machine?
Thank you for reading all of this.

Andrew Rakowski
October 2nd, 2007, 09:47 AM
Thank you.