PDA

View Full Version : how to restore database in temporary directory

fedora
August 14th, 2007, 04:05 AM
Hi Guys,

I am newbie here. I have successfully backup my DB remotely. Then I tried to restore and I found ZRM will restore direct to DB directory in /var/lib/mysql. Is ZRM do the restoration like that? I am just wondering if I restore the backup DB, it will replace the original one. I don't want that. Can ZRM do restoration on temporary folder so that I can choose which DB to put in /var/lib/mysql? I did tried to read the man page but I found no such thing I want.

paddy
August 14th, 2007, 01:34 PM
If you are using ZRM for MySQL version 1.2, you can use --port, --host options to restore the database to another MySQL server. You can test your application on a different MySQL server. See mysql-zrm-restore(1) man page.

Paddy

fedora
August 15th, 2007, 01:26 AM
If you are using ZRM for MySQL version 1.2, you can use --port, --host options to restore the database to another MySQL server. You can test your application on a different MySQL server. See mysql-zrm-restore(1) man page.

Paddy

Yes i am using ZRM for MySQL version 1.2. I think we have misunderstanding here. I can restore database backup to another MySQL server by running: mysql-zrm --action restore --backup-set dailyrun --source-directory \
/var/lib/mysql-zrm/dailyrun/20061025161624/ with or without --port and --host.

here is the results:
restore:INFO: ZRM for MySQL Community Edition - version 1.2
cent6_backupset:restore:INFO: Restored database(s) from logical backup: DBTest mysql test
cent6_backupset:restore:INFO: Restore done in 571 seconds.