PDA

View Full Version : Amanda and the use of hard disk instead of tape



caca
June 26th, 2007, 09:18 AM
Hi!
Where (in which file) do I change in order to make back up on my server disk instead of a tape(Because I don't have either a tape or an external disk).

dustin
June 26th, 2007, 09:34 AM
See http://wiki.zmanda.com/index.php/How_To:Build_a_Test_Environment_With_Virtual_Tapes

(which is not really about test environments anymore)

caca
June 27th, 2007, 01:24 AM
Thank you Dustin for your help. Excuse me, I don't where to put the configuration. Is it on the server ? or on the client?
I also have another problem, I can't use those commands "amnt, amtape, ...". I always have this message "command not found". (I have Redhat 9 on the server and Fedora core 6 on the client) .
Thanks

dustin
June 27th, 2007, 05:22 AM
the configuration should be on the server -- the client doesn't need to know how the server stores its data, after all.

Those commands are tape-related, and thus not available on the client. Also, it's 'ammt', not 'amnt'.