PDA

View Full Version : Verifying AMANDA backups

tamiral
June 6th, 2007, 08:33 AM
I'm a SysAdmin from a relatively medium-sized company dealing with DVRs.
I've been searching for a suitable backup solution and got AMANDA highly recommended by our company's old-timers...

After a while, I now have an AMANDA 2.5.1p fully-functional server (on Debian 4.0) which successfully (according to the logs), backs-up whatever I want to VTapes (on a 500GB RAID5 array storage-space).

Few questions though:
- How can I verify that AMANDA has successfully backed-up files? I'm aware of amverify, but I'd like to verify this with an
actual restore command and compare the files myself. Is there a way to restore AMANDA backups to a different client
other than the original location which the files were taken from?
- I'm quite worried about file permission issues. If a file is not readable by 'backup' user, thus cannot be read for backup
purposes, will it appear on the logs?
- How can I restore specific files from a successful backup rather than the whole backup/tape?

I'll probably have more questions along the way, but enough is enough for now...

Thanks!
Tamir.

shailen
June 6th, 2007, 09:04 AM
Hi Tamir,

Here are the answers to your questions.

- How can I verify that AMANDA has successfully backed-up files? I'm aware of amverify, but I'd like to verify this with an actual restore command and compare the files myself. Is there a way to restore AMANDA backups to a different client
other than the original location which the files were taken from?

You can use amrecover for this. You can run amrecover from either the original client or a different client, as long as you specify the correct backup server/configuration name. You can find more information here:
http://wiki.zmanda.com/index.php/Amrecover