PDA

View Full Version : Confused about tape drive

alanthing
March 23rd, 2007, 07:47 AM
I've been a part-time Linux sysadmin for a few years, but since I've mainly just worked with a few development machines, I haven't worked with SCSI much. We recently purchased a lot of new equipment, one of which is an Exabyte Magnum 1x7 autoloader. It has an LTO3 drive inside. After figuring out that our $50 Sun SCSI cable was bad, it successfully connected to the machine.

ExaByte provides two Linux utilities- ltoTool and libTool. ltoTool interfaces with tape drives...

# ltoTool -S
ltoTool V4.63 -- Copyright (c) 1996-2006, Exabyte Corp.

Scanning your system for tape devices...OK
Device | Address
------------------------+-----------------
HP Ultrium 3-SCSI | /dev/sg1

Done

And libTool interfaces with autochangers...

# libTool -S
libTool V1.79 - (c) 2002-2006 Exabyte Corp.

Scanning your system for media changers...OK
Device | Address
------------------------+-----------------
EXABYTE LTO 1x7 2U | /dev/sg0

With libTool, I can rotate the magazine, load tapes, clean, etc. ltoTool lets me do testing of read/write, diagnostics, toggle hardware compression, etc.

Mtx works for the autoloader too...

# mtx -f /dev/sg0 status
Storage Changer /dev/sg0:1 Drives, 7 Slots ( 0 Import/Export )
Data Transfer Element 0:Full (Unknown Storage Element Loaded):VolumeTag =
Storage Element 1:Empty:VolumeTag=
Storage Element 2:Full :VolumeTag=A00002
Storage Element 3:Full :VolumeTag=A00003
Storage Element 4:Full :VolumeTag=A00004
Storage Element 5:Full :VolumeTag=A00005
Storage Element 6:Full :VolumeTag=A00006
Storage Element 7:Full :VolumeTag=CLNA01

So, I started looking at AMANDA yesterday. Wow, for a new person to this, it's a lot to absorb. I spent hours reading the documentation on this wiki and I think I have a pretty good understanding of it. I can't get it to work though. Part of it may be my confusion of the way the /dev devices are assigned.