PDA

View Full Version : AMRMTAPE returns segmentation fault

posterlion
December 22nd, 2010, 12:56 PM
Hello Forum,

I've ran amdump a few times trying to determine the appropriate amanda.conf settings for runtapes, length (for vtapes), etc. I originally designed my configuration with 25 slots of 5120 Mbytes, but the first backup failed because "runtapes = 1", and I needed 50 Gbytes.

I thought Amanda would automatically span the dump across all slots. I was wrong. :)

Next I tried increasing runtapes to 10, no go. Then I just decided to set the vtape size to 50 Gbytes and that worked, but it left a horrible lump in the 25 defined slots.

I found a "howto" on configuring Amanda to split the dump across slots, but haven't yet tried it because: I'd like to reset everything to a state where all my vtapes are empty and begin a new cycle first. This is imperative because I do not have enough available disk space anymore. oop! :)

I am new to Amanda (obviously I should think), so I've been reading the forum trying to determine how to do this and I found a thread suggesting that I do amrmtape and then amtape reset.

I'd tried as per the suggestion and of course failed or I wouldn't be here.

Here's what happened:

amrmtape daily1 daily1-1
Segmentation fault

At this point I did the (new user panic thing) and tried to do the amtape reset and that actually completed fine. Now I have the following:

$ amtape daily1 show
amtape: scanning all 25 slots in changer:
slot 25: date X label daily1-25
slot 1: date 20101219153022 label daily1-1
slot 2: date 20101219182800 label daily1-2
slot 3: date 20101219185816 label daily1-3
slot 4: date 20101221104447 label daily1-4
slot 5: date X label daily1-5
slot 6: date X label daily1-6
slot 7: date X label daily1-7
slot 8: date X label daily1-8
slot 9: date X label daily1-9
slot 10: date X label daily1-10
slot 11: date X label daily1-11
slot 12: date X label daily1-12
slot 13: date X label daily1-13
slot 14: date X label daily1-14