PDA

View Full Version : Enhancement: amrecover understanding pkzip (unzip)



dmackay
October 29th, 2009, 01:06 PM
It looks like currently, you can use amrecover to browse a properly indexed dump from a Zmanda Windows Client readily enough.
Recovering an actual file requires using amfetchdump to get the whole pkzipped image and then extracting the file(s) you want from the resulting zip file.

I can run a command like "unzip ZippedImageFile TargetFile" to extract a specific file with out moving the whole thing to the Windows box, but getting amrecover to do it all in one shot would be great.

hammam
March 6th, 2011, 08:29 PM
Maybe the development team of zwc have chosen pkzip because it is more reliable? I appreciate it if anybody could elaborate on this point
I think it is better to give the user the option to choose which compressing tool to be used

paddy
March 7th, 2011, 09:00 AM
We select ZIP64 format because it works on large files and it is supported by many
Windows tools.

We will look into adding compression tools as a user defined option. ZWC does not use
PKZIP tool directly. PKZIP can extract ZIP64 archives without using ZWC.

Paddy

rkl
January 24th, 2013, 01:52 AM
I know this is a "me too" posting, but if the Amanda Windows client's output (in ZIP64) cannot be extracted by amrecover on the Linux Amanda server side (whereas Linux Amanda client dumps *can* be), then this is a serious omission in Amanda's Windows support.

Having to extract an entire DLE's dump as an uncompressed zip file by default using amfetchdump is pretty unacceptable - if it also happens to be a level 0 dump, this could be a massive zip file (which you might only want to extract 1 file from!).

I'm going to look into changing the Windows client side options to use something like 7-Zip (with no compression), which is also available on Linux (as a 7za binary). Not sure exactly how to do this though, since the last time I looked, the docs surrounding this sort of change weren't exactly verbose (e.g. what CLI options to 7-Zip should be given and how do I specify them in the Amanda client/server configs?). Looking at the Amanda server source code, I"m also concerned it might need server code changes rather than just config changes.