PDA

View Full Version : Faulting application ZWCService.exe

tomek
June 26th, 2009, 10:30 AM
Hi,

I am new to amanda backup and I would like to get it to work. I have set up my test environment and I have a moderate success so far with it. I am running 2.6.1p1 on Centos 5.3 (installed from RPM) and a few windows machines (XPSP3, 2003SP1)

My XP experience was not good. I could not backup anything however all the tests were successful.
On first 2003 backup works great!
On my second 2003 system; the backup fails. Exactly the agent stops, generating this error in the event viewer:

Faulting application ZWCService.exe, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module msvcr80.dll, version 8.0.50727.1433, fault address 0x00008aa0.

The agent crashes upon backup request. Service was running all night and died as soon as I requested backup.

I suspect that there is a conflict with StorageCraft agent running on this system
Also, XP system runs sonicwall’s CDP agent.

I wonder if the amanda agent can co-exist with any other backup on the system?
Is there a way to get it to work with StorageCraft agent installed?
Are there issues with the latest version of the client?

Answers will be greatly appreciated!

harsha
June 28th, 2009, 08:22 PM
Hi,

To debug the Service crash problem pl. follow the following steps
1. Run setup-debug.bat file (residing in bin folder of community installation)
(Running this script will generate the memory dump after the ZWCService crash which will eventually help to debug the problem)
2. Set the log level to 5 by setting following registry key
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ZMANDA\ZWC\1.0\Debug\L ogLevel
3. Restart ZWCService
4. Reproduce the crash
5. Collect the logs using zwc-support.bat (in bin folder)(This script collects the required information from the system and store it in .cab file) and send the ZWC*.cab file to us.

Is ZWCService crashing on XP as well ?
ZWC can co-exist with other backup products provided the backups are not running at the same time.