PDA

View Full Version : windows client - why so few supported versions?

Jon
January 31st, 2009, 08:55 PM
I used to use Amanda many years ago when I worked as a sysadmin for a local college, and recently have been looking for a better backup system for my home LAN, and stumbled across Amanda again. I was very happy to learn that there was a windows client until I discovered that it only supports a few versions of windows! Most of my machines are Windows 2000 Pro and the windows client does not install on that OS.

I am currently using Samba (smbtar) to back up my windows machines, but I have found this method to be extremely unreliable. Sometimes it works fine, other times the backup will consist partially or entirely of a bunch of empty single letter directories. It is because of this unreliability that I have been searching for an alternate solution.

I am excited about being able to use Amanda, but I *REALLY* do not want to have to backup via windows shares to do so! Why is there no client for win2k (or NT/95/98/XP Home, etc?) Is there perhaps a user contributed client that could be used? I don't really even care about not being able to backup open files so much, I just want to be able to get a reliable backup of my windows machines, which in my experience means not using Samba/shares...

I have a feeling I am either stuck using Samba or updating all of my machines to XP Pro SP2. The expense and hassle aside, I'm not even sure that I can run XP on some of the systems I have here, due to the greater hardware requirements of XP. :(

What about doing something like running a bare bones linux install with amanda client on the windows box via VMware, mounting the vfat/ntfs partitions of the windows box in the VMware'd linux machine and using the linux amanda client to back up the mounted windows partitions? That'd still be a hassle, but perhaps less so than a bunch of XP Pro SP2 installs...

Any advice or tips anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated!

Jon