PDA

View Full Version : Incremental from a replicated slave?



halindrome
August 30th, 2008, 06:49 AM
We are currently using ZRM 2 to do backups on a replicated slave (that is set aside for this purpose really). For full backups it works pretty well (except when using LVM snapshot backup it leavs the database locked after it makes the new volume, until the backup is complete - this seems wrong). For incrementals it is failing completely because the replicated slave does not have a binlog so there is nothing to do an incremental against. Does anyone know the trick to tell the replicated slave that it should be logging all changes to a binlog?

zmanda_jacob
September 2nd, 2008, 09:33 AM
Please read the following article as it describes how to make sure that the replication slave uses binary logging as well. This must be turned on at the slave for incremental backups to be effective:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/replication-options.html

halindrome
September 2nd, 2008, 12:56 PM
Thanks! That's perfect. Any idea when the problem with replicated slaves staying "stopped" during the a snapshot backup will be fixed? That's the other major impediment to my deploying mysql-zrm today.