PDA

View Full Version : Config query re LTO3, SAS HBA and slow speed

zano
March 2nd, 2008, 08:55 PM
I am new to Amanda, so please go easy on me. I have spent hours with the testing and even though the hardware is brand new and on paper should rocket along, it runs VERY slow :-(

I hope an experienced person can cast a glance over my configs and point me in the right direction.

HARDWARE
IBM LTO3 SAS Half Height Tape drive (Part 43W8478)
IBM SAS HOST BUS ADAPTER CONTROLLER (Part 25R8060)
Tapes Sony LTO 400/800GB
[Server disks - 300GB SAS 15K RPM]

########################################
1. One of the first things I did was to amtapetype. See the slow speed!

amtapetype -of /dev/nst0
Writing 512 Mbyte compresseable data: 41 sec
Writing 512 Mbyte uncompresseable data: 42 sec
Estimated time to write 2 * 1024 Mbyte: 168 sec = 0 h 2 min
wrote 11970489 32Kb blocks in 36607 files in 104332 seconds (short write)
wrote 10227761 32Kb blocks in 62747 files in 168570 seconds (short write)
define tapetype unknown-tapetype {
comment "just produced by tapetype prog (hardware compression off)"
length 450325 mbytes
filemark 2133 kbytes
speed 2806 kps
}

I ran another test but included the -e and -c switches and the Estimated times look horribly long.

amtapetype -oe 400G -f /dev/nst0 -c
Writing 512 Mbyte compresseable data: 40 sec
Writing 512 Mbyte uncompresseable data: 42 sec
Estimated time to write 2 * 409600 Mbyte: 67200 sec = 18 h 40 min

########################################

2. If it helps any this is some additional info about my tape drive.

mt -f /dev/nst0 status
drive type = Generic SCSI-2 tape
drive status = 1140850688
sense key error = 0
residue count = 0
file number = 0
block number = 1
Tape block size 0 bytes. Density code 0x44 (unknown).
Soft error count since last status=0
General status bits on (1010000):
ONLINE IM_REP_EN